Skip to main content

Jumble

“Misery loves company, I like the way that sounds, ive been trying to find the meaning so that I can write it down, staring out the window, its such a long way down, I’d like to jump but m afraid to hit the ground…”.
Its been a sad couple of days for me. Don’t know why. Depression is hovering around like a black cloud and just a lil bit of nothing can bring the rain pouring down. Why? Am I clinically depressed?? Hell no! I’m the happiest person in the world, tht is if u discount new brides and mothers. And maybe children.
I hate my work. Scratch that, I love my work but I hate the fact that I am unable to do my work. i get the feeling that if I don’t come to work for three weeks no one will notice until I come back. And then all they’ll say is ‘uh.. u used to work here right?’
Sigh! self pity. It actually is quite boring. M shaking it off right now. Shake it off….

ok!!! i'm fine now!!


For a while now ve been flirting with this guy in my office. Nothing serious. In fact, I shy away from using the word flirt but for want of a better word… if u listen to our conversations, u can hear nothing untoward. We talk about normal things. Typical conversation will go like this
Me- ah, my oga, good morning
Him- my madam. How far now. U don write ur exam
Me- which kind!!! I still dey read oh
Him- hurry up and write it, time is running out.
Me- no wahala, thanks. See u later.
Totally innocuous right??? Right!!! Until u see all the eye movement and smiles that accompany those few words. The other day on the staircase it progressed a bit:
him- my second sweetheart, how u dey? (this was accompanied by a slight squeeze on my waist)
me- (with a grin wider than the whole of texas) I dey oh. How are u?
him- doing well
(bear in mind that we were within kissing distance of each other)
Me- pls I need to borrow ur box for the night
Him- that one no be staircase talk. Come by office, we’ll discuss.
A door slammed and he removed his hand faster than if someone had shouted “look!! snake!!”.
Then, last night. I had a dream
I was walking on a dark , lonely street. I don’t know where I was going or from whence I came. I was just walking. Suddenly I decided to turn back. On my way back I saw a young girl who told me she wanted to show me sth. She told me to wait. Curious child that I am, I waited. Afterwards, I became a bit apprehensive of the situation, so I made to walk away. The gateman, who hitherto had remained unseen, slithers up to me and blocks my path. “madam say make u wait. She wan show u big money” he says with a maniacal grin. “get ur hands off me” I blustered. “how dare u!!! pls, get this man off me. I don’t know him” I cried to the two policemen who had materialized. They just stared thru me. At this point, I got frantic. I began to beg “abeg my brother, no vex. U know say she wan use me do winch. Abeg no make I enter this kind gbese.” The man looked at me pityingly and surprisingly let me go.
Flash on the next scene. It’s a concert of some sort. Westlife concert from the looks of things. But strangely enough, they are singing Meatloaf’s ‘I’ll do anything for love’. Singing, did I say? More like murdering the song. I wince and cover my ears. Towards the end tho, it begins to sounds good. The instrumentals sound a bit like linkin park and the vocals are off the hook. I slowly uncover my ears, swaying softly to the music. And then, he appears. From out of the blues it seems. And he zeroes in on me, clasps my hand and my waist and we begin to sway to the music, all the while gazing into each other’s eyes. It is so unbelievably erotic!!!
I wake up suddenly. Wow!! Did that just happen??? I’m dreaming about Mr. Office?? This is bad, very bad.
At work the next day, I couldn’t bear to look him in the eye. I don’t usually dream, so when I do, I usually think on them and attach lots of crazy meaning to them. Because of this dream, I was already seeing us walking down the aisle and having six babies, a house in VI and 3 cars. There’s only one problem with that.. the man already has that. And it definitely aint with me. So what’s a girl to do??

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Hello….who's there???

My computer has two user ids. One has my name on it and a pic that looks like me and the other says “stranger”. I have found that oftentimes when I want to log in my mouse hovers around “stranger” about five seconds before I make a conscious decision to move it to my name. weird huh?? It makes me remember how I was when I was younger. No!! That isn’t quite right... it makes me remember a feeling I had wen I was much younger. Who exactly am i?? I grew up thinking it was vanity to look in the mirror except when absolutely necessary. I really don’t know where that idea came from but there it was. You know how ure walking past a car and sometimes u just look in either to check ur reflection or to look at the car seats?? Well I never did that. Even if I was dying to know who or what was in the car, I wouldn’t look. Not because I thot I was vain (lord knows I wasn’t) but because I thot that whoever looking at me would think I was checking out my reflection and then think I was vain. I know ...

Here it comes again

Ive always loved Christmas. Wen I was younger it was a time to go to the village, hook up with cousins I hadn’t seen all through the year, eat lots of food, have uncles dote on me and tell me wat a wonderfully bright child I am and generally be lazy. I, my sister and my twin cousins used to pretend we were The Famous Five. It took us a while to realize that it wasn’t just a name- they were actually five. But that didn’t keep us down for too long. We bullied my cousins dog until we could make it do basically all we wanted. We had found our fifth member. but unlike our namesakes in the novel series, we didn’t solve mysteries; we created them!! One that m sure no one ever resolved was the question of y lil kids are so annoying. Perfect example: my big cousin had a bad car accident and had a big wound on his arm. My twin cousins and I would go to him, poke the wound insistently and say in that irritatingly squeaky loud voice kids have “ is it paining you??”. Now wen I think about it I wond...

Hello, Doctor!!!

Hey. Its been ages oh…. Don’t know where ve been but I know its good to be back. As always, carlang has worked his magic, albeit unknowingly! It really is quite weird, I read his blogs and want to write and then I read again and want to delete mine. Practice makes perfect they say but its hard to make do with mediocrity wen u’re faced with brilliance everyday!!! Sigh!!!!! The other day, I went for a checkup. The GP was this elderly guy with crossed eyes. Quite charming, in a I’m-a-doctor-I-couldn’t-care-less-if-ure-young-and-female-m-doin-my-job way. I won’t bore u with the details of my complaint, but basically it boiled down to him having to examine my tummy and my breasts (and no!!! I am not pregnant!!). when he finished, he made a strange “Hmmm!!” sound in his throat and told me to book an appointment with the gyny ASAP. Now, people, is it just me or do you guys also get a strange scary feeling n the pit of your belly wen a doctor examines you and says “Hmmm!!”?? Needless to say, I...