Skip to main content

Here it comes again

Ive always loved Christmas. Wen I was younger it was a time to go to the village, hook up with cousins I hadn’t seen all through the year, eat lots of food, have uncles dote on me and tell me wat a wonderfully bright child I am and generally be lazy. I, my sister and my twin cousins used to pretend we were The Famous Five. It took us a while to realize that it wasn’t just a name- they were actually five. But that didn’t keep us down for too long. We bullied my cousins dog until we could make it do basically all we wanted. We had found our fifth member. but unlike our namesakes in the novel series, we didn’t solve mysteries; we created them!! One that m sure no one ever resolved was the question of y lil kids are so annoying. Perfect example: my big cousin had a bad car accident and had a big wound on his arm. My twin cousins and I would go to him, poke the wound insistently and say in that irritatingly squeaky loud voice kids have “ is it paining you??”. Now wen I think about it I wonder how he could stand it. I would prob have grabbed our grubby hands and yelled “ off course it hurts u cretins. You think having a big hole in your hand is normal???”
Anyhoo…where was i?? aha. Christmas. It was fun. We used to have a family day on the 28th. The lil kids would sing and act a play to the delight of the older cousins, uncles and aunties (well, I certainly hope it was delight and not despair cos we murdered many a Shakespeare play in my day. Imagine a six yr old bumbling her way thru the famous Hamlet speech);and then my really big uncle would hand out crisp Five Naira notes in immaculate envelopes. Sigh!!! Those were the days.
Then little by little things started changing. The Grinch came into town. Older cousins stopped coming, giving flimsy excuses like work, stress and familial responsibilities; we grew older and had to do more and more around the house (damn that blasted housekeeper fairy. She quit and we haven’t seen her since) and suddenly instead of a time away to rest and play…we had a time away to work and be stressed. Talk about the end of innocence. Staying in lagos wasn’t even that great. We’d just sit at home and eat and eat. Go for 9o’clock service by 12 and come baack by 12.30. spend the rest of the day sleeping. Merry Christmas everyone!!!
Now its back…..

Comments

Carlang said…
hello dear
Glad to see that you fnally made it despite your doubts ( unwarranted as it turns out) about your writing skills.
Loved the posts.
maybe it;s cos i;m a little nuts about you.
I'll mention your post when next i blog.
See?
I'm always there for you.
SO when does this kiss re-happen?
SOLOMONSYDELLE said…
Heh? I came to leave simple comment about Xmas, and here I see bloggers romancing themselves and talking sweet sweet nothings!

Ah, okay, I did not mean to interrupt o. Make I carry my leg commot una room, oh...


hahaha

Popular posts from this blog

Hello….who's there???

My computer has two user ids. One has my name on it and a pic that looks like me and the other says “stranger”. I have found that oftentimes when I want to log in my mouse hovers around “stranger” about five seconds before I make a conscious decision to move it to my name. weird huh?? It makes me remember how I was when I was younger. No!! That isn’t quite right... it makes me remember a feeling I had wen I was much younger. Who exactly am i?? I grew up thinking it was vanity to look in the mirror except when absolutely necessary. I really don’t know where that idea came from but there it was. You know how ure walking past a car and sometimes u just look in either to check ur reflection or to look at the car seats?? Well I never did that. Even if I was dying to know who or what was in the car, I wouldn’t look. Not because I thot I was vain (lord knows I wasn’t) but because I thot that whoever looking at me would think I was checking out my reflection and then think I was vain. I know ...

Hello, Doctor!!!

Hey. Its been ages oh…. Don’t know where ve been but I know its good to be back. As always, carlang has worked his magic, albeit unknowingly! It really is quite weird, I read his blogs and want to write and then I read again and want to delete mine. Practice makes perfect they say but its hard to make do with mediocrity wen u’re faced with brilliance everyday!!! Sigh!!!!! The other day, I went for a checkup. The GP was this elderly guy with crossed eyes. Quite charming, in a I’m-a-doctor-I-couldn’t-care-less-if-ure-young-and-female-m-doin-my-job way. I won’t bore u with the details of my complaint, but basically it boiled down to him having to examine my tummy and my breasts (and no!!! I am not pregnant!!). when he finished, he made a strange “Hmmm!!” sound in his throat and told me to book an appointment with the gyny ASAP. Now, people, is it just me or do you guys also get a strange scary feeling n the pit of your belly wen a doctor examines you and says “Hmmm!!”?? Needless to say, I...