Skip to main content

People you find in an elevator



1.     Elevator police- you know them. In fact, you might be one of them. Those people who take it upon themselves to control the opening and closing of elevator doors. Once they get into the elevator, they must stand close to the buttons. The more extreme ones ask everyone where they are getting off. Just so they can press the button themselves. No one is allowed to come near their precious buttons. And then when anyone gets on, they are quick to hold down the close button as if there’s a vampire waiting in the corner ready to jump in and drink their blood.

why am i so pained, you might ask? Well, in my office building, you get an elevator assigned to your floor when you tap in. the system likes to assign as many people as possible across different floors into any one elevator. You cannot select a floor once you are in the elevator as all the floors are pre-selected. Now sometimes when the elevator comes and people get in, the doors don’t close immediately because there are more people tapping in that have been assigned to that elevator (hope this makes sense). But generally, one never has to wait up to 1 minute before the doors close and the elevator shoots off. For some people, however, this is 45 seconds too long. As soon as they get in, they proceed to hold down the close button, effectively cutting off all the other people who are hurrying down to the elevator. It’s even more annoying when this ‘police man’ was someone who had hurried to the elevator himself, while everyone patiently waited for him/her.  Best way to deal with them? Stand on the other side of the door and secretly lean on the ‘open’ button.



2.     The loudspeakers- arrrghhh...... even more annoying than the elevator police are the loudspeakers. They walk into an elevator and proceed to have the loudest most vapid conversation known to man. Now don’t get me wrong, i am not saying people shouldn’t speak in an elevator. But it’s an enclosed space. When there are 7 -12 people packed in an enclosed space and 2 of them start having a loud conversation on the fish and chips they had last night, you have to admit, it’s pretty annoying. Speak in low tones for God’s sake. Or better yet, if it isn’t relevant to a meeting you have in two minutes or it isn’t something that can help the greater good, shut the hell up and wait till you get out of the lift. Best way to deal with them- give them the stare. If that doesn’t work, at least you tried



3.     The smilers -  sigh!! Those perky people that think it’s nice and friendly to say hello to everyone in the elevator. Not just a grunt or a nod, but an annoyingly lively greeting which, if you are unfortunate enough to smile back, is followed by even more annoying idle small talk. Now i am all for saying a quick good morning when you get into the elevator (even then, when there’s more than 5 people, then it’s just pointless), especially if it’s an office building. But a cheery “hello” into an elevator filled with people, is just too much. Best way to deal with them? Smile back :-) what the hell, life is short, might as well be pleasant!



4.     The concrete pillars- more annoying than the loudspeakers and the police are the pillars. These are the ones who know they are getting off at the topmost floor but decide that somehow it is okay to plant their immoveable feet right in front of the door. When the elevator stops at another floor, they somehow think that they are made of air and people should just pass through them. More annoying is when they are listening to loud music or typing furiously on their phones and you literally have to scream out “excuse me” before they deem it fit to move out of the way. I usually like to give a nice firm tap on the shoulder as well. These guys are usually found in trains as well. Standing guard at the door. Best way to deal with them? Snap your fingers in their face and say “focus”!



5.     The lookers- no, i don’t mean good looking people. I mean the ones that love to stare. These ones are my favourite. They look everyone in the lift up and down (no mean feat in an elevator filled to nearly overflowing) and can describe in detail everyone’s hairstyle, who’s got a hot bod/cute butt and who didn’t bother to iron their clothes that morning. They usually stand at the back for the best view and have been known to go past their floor sometimes just to see where everyone gets off. You know why they are my favourite? Because i am one of them :-) Best way to deal with them (er...us)?? Wait till the appraisal is done and when your eyes meet,  give a lascivious wink. But be careful,  If they're anything like me they'd probably wink back.  And that would b kinda awkward.

So tell me, which elevators types have you had the pleasure of meeting?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Hello….who's there???

My computer has two user ids. One has my name on it and a pic that looks like me and the other says “stranger”. I have found that oftentimes when I want to log in my mouse hovers around “stranger” about five seconds before I make a conscious decision to move it to my name. weird huh?? It makes me remember how I was when I was younger. No!! That isn’t quite right... it makes me remember a feeling I had wen I was much younger. Who exactly am i?? I grew up thinking it was vanity to look in the mirror except when absolutely necessary. I really don’t know where that idea came from but there it was. You know how ure walking past a car and sometimes u just look in either to check ur reflection or to look at the car seats?? Well I never did that. Even if I was dying to know who or what was in the car, I wouldn’t look. Not because I thot I was vain (lord knows I wasn’t) but because I thot that whoever looking at me would think I was checking out my reflection and then think I was vain. I know ...

Here it comes again

Ive always loved Christmas. Wen I was younger it was a time to go to the village, hook up with cousins I hadn’t seen all through the year, eat lots of food, have uncles dote on me and tell me wat a wonderfully bright child I am and generally be lazy. I, my sister and my twin cousins used to pretend we were The Famous Five. It took us a while to realize that it wasn’t just a name- they were actually five. But that didn’t keep us down for too long. We bullied my cousins dog until we could make it do basically all we wanted. We had found our fifth member. but unlike our namesakes in the novel series, we didn’t solve mysteries; we created them!! One that m sure no one ever resolved was the question of y lil kids are so annoying. Perfect example: my big cousin had a bad car accident and had a big wound on his arm. My twin cousins and I would go to him, poke the wound insistently and say in that irritatingly squeaky loud voice kids have “ is it paining you??”. Now wen I think about it I wond...

Hello, Doctor!!!

Hey. Its been ages oh…. Don’t know where ve been but I know its good to be back. As always, carlang has worked his magic, albeit unknowingly! It really is quite weird, I read his blogs and want to write and then I read again and want to delete mine. Practice makes perfect they say but its hard to make do with mediocrity wen u’re faced with brilliance everyday!!! Sigh!!!!! The other day, I went for a checkup. The GP was this elderly guy with crossed eyes. Quite charming, in a I’m-a-doctor-I-couldn’t-care-less-if-ure-young-and-female-m-doin-my-job way. I won’t bore u with the details of my complaint, but basically it boiled down to him having to examine my tummy and my breasts (and no!!! I am not pregnant!!). when he finished, he made a strange “Hmmm!!” sound in his throat and told me to book an appointment with the gyny ASAP. Now, people, is it just me or do you guys also get a strange scary feeling n the pit of your belly wen a doctor examines you and says “Hmmm!!”?? Needless to say, I...