Skip to main content

Posts

People you find in an elevator

1.     Elevator police- you know them. In fact, you might be one of them. Those people who take it upon themselves to control the opening and closing of elevator doors. Once they get into the elevator, they must stand close to the buttons. The more extreme ones ask everyone where they are getting off. Just so they can press the button themselves. No one is allowed to come near their precious buttons. And then when anyone gets on, they are quick to hold down the close button as if there’s a vampire waiting in the corner ready to jump in and drink their blood. why am i so pained, you might ask? Well, in my office building, you get an elevator assigned to your floor when you tap in. the system likes to assign as many people as possible across different floors into any one elevator. You cannot select a floor once you are in the elevator as all the floors are pre-selected. Now sometimes when the elevator comes and people get in, the doors don’t close immediately because there a...
Recent posts

Challenge 1- letter to my best friend

Hey what's up? I was told to  write a letter to you. What a hard thing to do! I started thinking of what to write and what to leave out. Should I tell you how much you mean to me and how much I value our friendship? Or is that too sappy? Should I tell you how it feels like something is wrong when we haven’t spoken in a while? Or how my hubby gets a little bit jealous that I seem to share more with you than him? Should I reminisce on the times we’ve had? The crazy fun from when we were little tots till now, all grown up, married, about to have kids? This is so hard...   As I write this, I’m listening to Adure, our all time favourite song. It’s so funny when you just click with someone isn’t it? So weird and funny and plain old nice!! Remember when we met? Haha, neither can I. Too young lah!! I guess all I can really say in this note is thank you. Thank you for always having my back. For being there when I go off on my crazy ramblings. For understanding when I bitch,...

Jumble

“Misery loves company, I like the way that sounds, ive been trying to find the meaning so that I can write it down, staring out the window, its such a long way down, I’d like to jump but m afraid to hit the ground…”. Its been a sad couple of days for me. Don’t know why. Depression is hovering around like a black cloud and just a lil bit of nothing can bring the rain pouring down. Why? Am I clinically depressed?? Hell no! I’m the happiest person in the world, tht is if u discount new brides and mothers. And maybe children. I hate my work. Scratch that, I love my work but I hate the fact that I am unable to do my work. i get the feeling that if I don’t come to work for three weeks no one will notice until I come back. And then all they’ll say is ‘uh.. u used to work here right?’ Sigh! self pity. It actually is quite boring. M shaking it off right now. Shake it off…. ok!!! i'm fine now!! For a while now ve been flirting with this guy in my office. Nothing serious. In fact, I shy away ...

Hello, Doctor!!!

Hey. Its been ages oh…. Don’t know where ve been but I know its good to be back. As always, carlang has worked his magic, albeit unknowingly! It really is quite weird, I read his blogs and want to write and then I read again and want to delete mine. Practice makes perfect they say but its hard to make do with mediocrity wen u’re faced with brilliance everyday!!! Sigh!!!!! The other day, I went for a checkup. The GP was this elderly guy with crossed eyes. Quite charming, in a I’m-a-doctor-I-couldn’t-care-less-if-ure-young-and-female-m-doin-my-job way. I won’t bore u with the details of my complaint, but basically it boiled down to him having to examine my tummy and my breasts (and no!!! I am not pregnant!!). when he finished, he made a strange “Hmmm!!” sound in his throat and told me to book an appointment with the gyny ASAP. Now, people, is it just me or do you guys also get a strange scary feeling n the pit of your belly wen a doctor examines you and says “Hmmm!!”?? Needless to say, I...

Here it comes again

Ive always loved Christmas. Wen I was younger it was a time to go to the village, hook up with cousins I hadn’t seen all through the year, eat lots of food, have uncles dote on me and tell me wat a wonderfully bright child I am and generally be lazy. I, my sister and my twin cousins used to pretend we were The Famous Five. It took us a while to realize that it wasn’t just a name- they were actually five. But that didn’t keep us down for too long. We bullied my cousins dog until we could make it do basically all we wanted. We had found our fifth member. but unlike our namesakes in the novel series, we didn’t solve mysteries; we created them!! One that m sure no one ever resolved was the question of y lil kids are so annoying. Perfect example: my big cousin had a bad car accident and had a big wound on his arm. My twin cousins and I would go to him, poke the wound insistently and say in that irritatingly squeaky loud voice kids have “ is it paining you??”. Now wen I think about it I wond...

Hello….who's there???

My computer has two user ids. One has my name on it and a pic that looks like me and the other says “stranger”. I have found that oftentimes when I want to log in my mouse hovers around “stranger” about five seconds before I make a conscious decision to move it to my name. weird huh?? It makes me remember how I was when I was younger. No!! That isn’t quite right... it makes me remember a feeling I had wen I was much younger. Who exactly am i?? I grew up thinking it was vanity to look in the mirror except when absolutely necessary. I really don’t know where that idea came from but there it was. You know how ure walking past a car and sometimes u just look in either to check ur reflection or to look at the car seats?? Well I never did that. Even if I was dying to know who or what was in the car, I wouldn’t look. Not because I thot I was vain (lord knows I wasn’t) but because I thot that whoever looking at me would think I was checking out my reflection and then think I was vain. I know ...